Can you guess the hidden vegetables??

Looking at the picture below, can you guess what 3 vegetables went into making this??

20120829-183207.jpg

I ask this not because I try to find ways to convince my son to eat and try new things, but because I need to convince my….HUSBAND!!!

A few days ago, I was rather unsuccessful fooling him into thinking he liked crab meat. Tonight I was attempting to change his mind on a vegetable that he does not like.

I am sure you are wondering what this vegetable is…….CAULIFLOWER! I happen to love cauliflower, and I would probably eat it every day. I even like it just very simply steamed with a little salt and pepper. No cheese sauce. No butter.

Below is a recipe I developed with a little help from some online scavenging.

Roasted Carrot and Cauliflower Smash

Ingredients:

1 head of cauliflower, washed, and cut into florets
3 to 4 small to medium carrots, peeled and chopped
1/2 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, minced
1 tablespoon fresh thyme, minced
4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Place the carrots and cauliflower on a foil-lined baking sheet. Drizzle olive oil (about 2 tbsp), enough to coat vegetables. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Roast vegetables at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a sauté pan over medium heat.

Sauté onion for 2-3 minutes. Then add garlic and herbs. Cook until onion is translucent. Be sure not to burn the garlic. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.

Place roasted cauliflower and carrots into a food processor. Add the sauteed onion, garlic, herbs, and 1 tbsp olive oil. Process until smooth.

**Recipe inspiration: Multiply Delicious

I served this with a combination of chicken thighs and drumsticks that I marinaded in a store bought balsamic marinade for a couple hours and baked at 400 degrees for 40-45 minutes. I reserved some of the marinade to make a sauce.

Balsamic Onion Sauce

Ingredients:

1/3 cup balsamic marinade (I used Ken’s brand)
1/3 cup chicken stock
Half a large onion, sliced

Directions: In a small saucepan, I combined the reserved marinade, chicken stock, and sliced onion. Heated to a boil, then reduced to simmer about 5-10, until the onions are cooked.

20120829-183949.jpg

This time was a success!!! My husband really liked the carrot and cauliflower smash!!!

ENJOY!!

8 thoughts on “Can you guess the hidden vegetables??

  1. Looks very tasty! I am actually making mashed cauliflower tonight…going to surprise my family (they’ll definitely think they’re potatoes). Can’t wait to see their reaction :) I’ll post the recipe next week sometime.

  2. Pingback: Too much cabbage! | cookingwithatwist

Leave a Reply

