Egg-cellent!

You would thinking hard boiling an egg shouldn’t be so difficult, but somehow mine have never turned out quite right! I always like to see a perfect yellow yolk. So with a little bit of trial and error, I think I have finally perfected it! Below is what I have come up with:

Place your eggs in a pot. Fill with water, enough to cover the eggs. Bring water to a boil. Let boil 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat, and cover for 15 minutes. Place eggs immediately in ice water to shock them. This will stop the eggs from cooking any further. Once peeled, and cut, you should have hard boiled eggs with perfect yellow yolks.

Today I used my hard boiled eggs to make some egg salad for lunch. This recipe I learned from my parents growing up. Following is the recipe:

2 hard boiled eggs, peeled and chopped
1 tbsp light mayonnaise
1 tsp light miracle whip
1 tsp yellow mustard
Salt and pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Stir until well mixed. Chill in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes before serving.

I typically like to have mine on bread, but the egg salad is also delicious by itself or on crackers.

ENJOY!

20120721-133444.jpg

Leave a Reply

