Pantry Finds!

20120722-184450.jpg

After spending all afternoon in 90+ degree heat, I honestly had no energy to come home and make an elaborate Sunday dinner. Plus, I never made it to the grocery store this weekend. So, I was forced to make something of what we had.

I always have plenty of chicken drumsticks and chicken breasts in my freezer. They were my starting point. I then went to my pantry to see what I had to dress up the chicken. I came across a packet of buffalo flavored coating mix, and what do I typically like with my buffalo wings? Ranch dressing! I had a partial packet of dry ranch mix as well. And so this is the simple recipe I created below:

Buffalo Ranch Chicken

8 chicken drumsticks
1 packet buffalo coating mix
1 tbsp dry ranch dressing mix

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Combine coating mix and ranch dressing in a plastic bag.

Toss 2 pieces of chicken at a time until all are evenly coated

Place chicken on a greased baking sheet.

Bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes, or until cooked through. Let the chicken rest about 5 minutes before serving.

This chicken could be served with almost anything. I again resorted to what I had on hand. I chose some pre-sliced carrots that were leftover from a side salad we had earlier in the week. I tossed them in olive oil, and added salt and pepper to taste. Placed carrots on a baking sheet, and baked at 400 degrees for 45 minutes, turning once halfway through. This simple side dish worked out perfect because it was able to cook along with the chicken.

I guess it is possible to make something from nothing!

ENJOY!

One thought on “Pantry Finds!

Leave a Reply

