Is it Fall yet??

I have to admit, one of the things I miss most about Pennsylvania (other than my family, of course) is the changing of seasons, especially Fall! The weather is always perfect, and the food is always better! There are so many great flavors and foods associated with Fall, including squash, soup, sweet potato, and my favorite, PUMPKIN!

Let me begin with sweet potato. I did not always like them. I remember as a kid REALLY disliking them. And, man, was I missing out! I could eat them every day now. To be honest, I think what I didn’t like was those candied sweet potatoes always served at Thanksgiving. However, a plan baked sweet potato is delicious, but of course I’m always looking for new ways to prepare them. Below is how I made them tonight to accompany my lemon baked fish (see “Let’s Go Greek” post) and fresh steamed green and wax beans.

Baked Sweet Potato Slices

Ingredients:

2 sweet potatoes
Cooking spray
Salt, to taste

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Slice sweet potatoes about a 1/2” thick. Spray foil lined baking sheet with cooking spray. Place sweet potato slices on baking sheet. Spray other side with cooking spray. Sprinkle with salt. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes, turning once to evenly cook both sides.

20120729-193340.jpg

Now for the pumpkin!!!

Every Thanksgiving for the past few years, I have been making a pumpkin cheesecake which is absolutely delicious. A couple years ago I came across a pumpkin sausage lasagna recipe (yummy!). And today, on this hot summer day in Florida, I was craving something sweet, but I also wanted it to be relatively healthy. So I took to my pantry to see what I had on hand. I came across a box of angel food cake mix and a can of pumpkin purée. After a search online, I found the recipe below.

Pumpkin Angel Food Cake

Ingredients:

1 box Betty Crocker white angel food cake mix
1 tbsp. Gold Medal all-purpose flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
¼ tsp. ginger
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
1/8 tsp. cloves
1 cup canned pumpkin purée
1 cup cold water

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Put all ingredients into a bowl and mix until combined. Pour into a greased 13×9 glass baking dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes clear from center. Let cool before serving. I simply topped it with a spoon of Cool Whip.

20120729-194533.jpg

Recipes inspired by: Edible Perspective

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

