Protein Packed Dinner!

20120801-185233.jpg

I absolutely love seafood, and probably my all time favorite is sea scallops! I have my father to thank for this. He really likes them too. I remember, as a kid, him ordering them all the time at restaurants, and occasionally making them at home. He would always tell me which restaurants had really good ones. Ahhh…..to be a kid again!

I’m working on convincing my husband that seafood tastes really good, not just fried shrimp. Hopefully this meal has made my convincing a little easier!

This is a healthy and delicious meal, and between the scallops and beans it is packed with protein!

Scallops with Sautéed Spinach and White Beans

Ingredients:

2 strips bacon, chopped into small pieces
1 onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cans white beans, rinsed and drained
1 bag baby spinach
1 dozen large sea scallops
Salt and black pepper to taste
2 tbsp olive oil, divided
juice of 1 lemon

Directions:

Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a medium saucepan over low heat.

Cook the bacon until it has begun to crisp.

Add the onion and garlic; cook 2-3 minutes until tender.

Add the white beans and spinach Cover and simmer until the beans are hot and the spinach is wilted. Keep warm.

Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in another pan over medium-high heat.

Pat the scallops dry with a paper towel and season with salt and pepper on both sides.

Add the scallops to the pan and sear for 2-3 minutes per side, until caramelized.

Just before serving, add the lemon juice to the beans. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

**Recipes credit: Women’s Health

Not only did my husband and I enjoy this, so did our son!!

20120801-185248.jpg

ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

