Cracker-coated Cod

Try to say that three times…..cracker-coated cod, cracker-coated cod, cracker-coated cod!

Anyway, in an effort to continue to eat healthy and in hopes of continuing to lose weight, I feel like I often have to reinvent the wheel. I mean, how many times can you eat baked or grilled chicken in 1 week. Foods like fish and chicken are pretty versatile, and take to spices, herbs, and marinades well.

I was in the mood for fish tonight, and thankfully my grocery store had cod filets on sale this week. I went on a hunt online to find a recipe that looked good, and one that I thought the rest of my family would enjoy. I came across a pretzel-coated fish recipe. This sounded so good, but unfortunately I didn’t have any pretzels on hand, and I wasn’t going to go buy a bag of pretzels just for this recipe. So, like usual, I took to my pantry to see what I had. Saltine crackers…..perfect substitute!!

The original recipe also called for mayo with seasoning salt to coat fish, but I wanted to be a bit healthier. So, I substituted an egg. Below is the delicious recipe I developed!

20120805-184222.jpg

Cracker-coated Cod with Dijon Apricot Sauce

Ingredients:

4 cod fish filets (about 5-6 ounces each)
20 saltine crackers, low sodium, finely chopped in food processor
1 tsp seasoning salt
1/2 tsp ground white pepper
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 tbsp olive oil

Combine crackers, seasoning salt, and white pepper.

Coat fish in egg, then coat in cracker mixture. Complete until all pieces of fish are coated.

Heat olive oil in large pan over medium heat. Cook breaded fish 3-4 minutes on each side, until cooked through.

Sauce:

4 tbsp apricot preserves
4 tbsp Dijon mustard
4 tbsp fat free half&half
1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

Combine all ingredients in a microwave safe bowl. Whisk to combine slightly and break up preserves. Microwave on high heat for 20 seconds. Whisk again, breaking up preserves. Microwave another 20 seconds. Whisking until smooth. Add fresh parsley. Top fish with desired amount.

**Recipe inspiration: All Recipes

ENJOY!!

5 thoughts on “Cracker-coated Cod

Leave a Reply

