Ode to my father!

This past weekend when we were in Charlotte, actually before we even got there, my dad was already requesting to eat at a particular restaurant. He kept raving about their Brussels sprouts! He said he was going to get 7 orders! Haha…WHAT?!?! I knew they had to be fantastic for him to say that.

I have to admit, I was not too excited about these Brussels sprouts. My mind immediately reverts back to my childhood when my parents would serve them for dinner and make us eat them. And that terrible smell!!! Well, after eating them this weekend, I was certainly proven wrong. I could not get enough of them.

Below are the recipes for what we had for dinner. Both the chicken and Brussels sprouts use lemon and garlic. So, I thought they would be a great pairing.

Garlic-Lemon Chicken

Ingredients:
2 tbsp. lemon zest (for me, this was about 3 lemons)
1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (also 3 lemons)
3 cloves garlic, crushed
2 tsp fresh thyme leaves
1 tsp fresh rosemary leaves, finely minced
1 tsp salt
1 tsp. pepper
2-4 lbs. of bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs or drumsticks (I used 6 drumsticks and 4 thighs)
Cooking spray

Directions:
Combine the lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic, thyme, rosemary, salt and pepper in a large plastic bag.

Seal the bag and shake well to blend.

Place the chicken pieces in the bag with the marinade, removing any excess air. Refrigerate and let marinate for 1 hour (The original recipe recommended marinating for 2 hours. Unfortunately, I just did not have that much time).

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Remove the chicken from the marinade and place in a lightly greased baking dish. Reserve the leftover marinade. Spray tops of chicken with cooking spray (to help it brown and get crispy).

Bake uncovered about 25 minutes. Remove from the oven, and pour the reserved marinade over the chicken.

Bake another 25 minutes, until the skins are crispy and well-browned.

Remove the chicken from the oven, and cover with foil. Let it rest 5-10 minutes before serving.

**Recipe inspiration: Annie’s Eats

Lemon-Garlic Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients:

2 lb Brussels Sprouts
4 tbsp olive oil
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 lemon, juiced and zested
2 tbsp asiago cheese, grated
Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

Clean the Brussels sprouts by trimming off the ends and peeling the outer layer of the sprout off. Cut each one in half.

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Once heated, add the halved brussel sprouts to the pan and saute for about 7 minutes on each side until the outer part is a caramelized and the inside is tender.

Add the garlic half way through the cooking.

Transfer the Brussels sprouts to a bowl. Add the lemon zest, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Stir to combine.

Top with cheese just before serving.

**Recipe credit: What’s Gaby Cooking

20120815-200217.jpg

After I took this picture, I sent it to my dad via text. I knew he would appreciate it! He first replied, “I think you missed your calling!” He then said, “Can I move in?” I guess on my parents next visit in a few months I will be making this for them. But….I have a feeling, we will be having these delicious recipes for dinner several times before my parents get here!

ENJOY!

3 thoughts on “Ode to my father!

  1. Jess – you are a natural at this! Kevin loves brussel sprouts and I will have to try this recipe. Don’t worry, I won’t invite your dad over for dinner, I’ll let you make them for him!!

  2. Pingback: I couldn’t resist!!! | cookingwithatwist

Leave a Reply

