Quick tip!!

Always try to find a way to re-invent the wheel! Meaning, even if you buy some packaged foods, try to find a way to change it up and make it your own.

For example, I rarely have the time to prepare my own bread crumbs to make baked chicken. I often buy bread crumbs or coating mix already packaged at the store. Then when I decide to use it, I think about how I can change it and add more flavor.

Tonight I did just that! I took one package of coating mix, added about 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese and freshly ground pepper to taste. For me, that’s a lot of pepper! Then just bake it according to the package directions. Typically, that’s 400 degrees for about 45 minutes.

20120820-183800.jpg

You can serve it with any of your favorite side dish. Tonight I took a bunch of fresh vegetables from my refrigerator (broccoli, asparagus, zucchini), and quickly sautéed them in olive oil and crushed garlic. At the very end, I added the juice of half a lemon and salt and pepper to taste. Yummy! It was the perfect compliment to the baked chicken.

But….you can add almost anything to bread crumbs or coating mix. As in previous posts, I have made a taco baked chicken by adding some taco seasoning. I have also made a buffalo ranch chicken by adding dry ranch dressing to buffalo flavored crumbs. That was my favorite!

Experiment with it, and add any spices or favors that suit you and your family!

ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

