Chicken Enchilada….a healthy version!

When I was completing my clinical fellowship a couple years ago, there was a Mexican restaurant near by that a coworker and I would go to often. And we always ordered the same thing….the chicken enchilada! They were so yummy!! For some reason, I thought they were really difficult to make and very unhealthy. Well, I was wrong on both!

Thanks to Pinterest I found a great recipe!

20120822-193513.jpg

Healthy Chicken Enchilada

Ingredients:

16 oz. fat free sour cream
1 can fat free cream of chicken soup
1/4 cup water
1 tbls. fresh chopped cilantro
1 rotisserie chicken
1 can Rotel with green chilies
1 medium size onion, chopped
10-12 small corn tortillas
1 cup low fat shredded cheese
1 can diced green chiles
Cooking spray

Directions:

Combine sour cream, chicken soup, water, and cilantro in a sauce pan and heat through. Keep an eye on it, it will bubble quickly.

In a sauté pan with cooking spray, cook chicken, onion, Rotel, green chilies until onions are transparent.

Warm tortillas wrapped in a damp paper towel for 45 seconds in the microwave.

Fill each tortilla with 2 tbsp of the chicken mixture. Top with a pinch of shredded cheese. Roll the tortillas tightly and place seam side down in greased 13×9 baking dish.

Repeat until the baking dish is full. For me this was about 12 small tortillas. If you use a bigger tortilla, it will be about 8.

Pour sour cream and soup mixture over tortillas. Making sure they are covered.

Top with desired amount of shredded cheese.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

**Recipe credit: Skinny Mom

Along with the enchilada, I served a black bean and corn salsa that I typically serve with tacos or make to have at a BBQ. I have been making this for a few years now, and I have not strayed much from the original recipe. Tonight (thanks to Pinterest), I made one change. I added edamame to make it more substantial. So it could be more of a side dish rather than just a salsa. I have now made my parents and many other family members fall in love with this salsa.

20120822-200532.jpg

Black Beans, Corn, and Edamame

Ingredients:

1 can black beans, rinsed, drained
1 pkg frozen whole kernel corn, thawed
1 pkg frozen edamame, shelled and thawed
1/4 cup chopped red onion
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1 envelope GOOD SEASONS Garlic & Herb Dressing Mix
2 tbsp chopped cilantro
1 jalapeño, chopped
1/4 tsp ground cumin

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Stir. Refrigerate at least 15 minutes before serving. It’s even better if you make it the night before!

**Recipe inspiration: Kraft Recipes

Finally, I used some leftover corn tortilla to make some tortilla chips like I had done in a previous post, White Chicken Chili.

ENJOY!!

4 thoughts on “Chicken Enchilada….a healthy version!

  1. Pingback: Football Saturday Dinner: Blackened Fish Tacos | cookingwithatwist

  2. Pingback: Taco Twist! | cookingwithatwist

Leave a Reply

