Dressed Up Broccoli!

After breakfast, I spent most of the day trying to figure out what to make for dinner with what I had on hand. I knew I was going to make baked chicken, but I still needed something to serve with it. Initially, I wanted to have some corn, but I only had canned. And my mind just wasn’t coming up with any way to use the canned corn.

I then began brainstorming what I could do with frozen broccoli. When we lived in Philadelphia, and all I had was a 2 burner stove and a small toaster oven. I would often make this baked cream cheese broccoli dish, and I was wanting to make something similar to that tonight. However, I did not have any cream cheese. I then remembered the Parmesan sauce I made yesterday with the Seafood Lasagna. I thought this sauce, or one similar, would be delicious with broccoli! Below is what I created!

Ingredients:

2 bags frozen broccoli, thawed and drained
2 tbsp butter or margarine, melted
2 tbsp flour
2 cups low-fat milk
1/2 cup grated/shredded cheese (I used 1/4 cup Parmesan and 1/4 cup asiago)
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
Salt and pepper to taste

Bread Crumb Topping:
2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
2 tbsp Parmesan cheese, grated

Directions:

In a saucepan, melt the butter. Whisk in the flour. Let it cook a minute or so. Slowly whisk in milk. Bring to a boil, and cook for 3-5 minutes. Watch it carefully, it will bubble and boil over quickly. Add cheese and stir until melted. Add nutmeg as well as salt and pepper to taste.

In a bowl, combine the thawed broccoli and cheese sauce. Pour into an 8×8 glass baking dish.

In a small sauté pan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese. Stir to combine. Cook just enough to brown the bread crumbs. About 10 minutes.

Once bread crumbs are browned, sprinkle on top of broccoli and cheese mixture.

Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

20120826-203347.jpg

ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

