Sunday Breakfast!

In an effort to make up for my husband not enjoying dinner very much last night, I thought it would be a good idea to make something other than eggs for breakfast.

I took to my Pinterest page, and went through recipes I had pinned over the past several weeks. I came across a delicious pancake recipe. These pancakes incorporated lemon, which has been one of my favorite favors lately, for both savory and sweet recipes.

To be honest, breakfast is probably the meal I could use the most improvement! Prior to having my son, I barely ate breakfast. Now I find myself eating it every day. Sometimes it’s just some fresh fruit or oatmeal. Other times, I will make eggs or pancakes, but never pancakes like these!!! I have only ever made pancakes that come from a box. On occasion, I would add some ground cinnamon to them.

I have another confession! I do NOT like syrup!!! So, when I found this recipe, I knew I had to try it.

Lemon-Poppy Seed Pancakes

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup sugar (I used the Splenda sugar blend, which was 2 tbsp plus 2 tsp)
pinch of salt
1/3 cup poppy seeds
zest of 4 lemons
2 cups low-fat buttermilk
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted (I used Smart Balance light, and melted in the microwave for a few seconds)
Cooking Spray

Directions: (I preheated my oven to WARM, which is about 170 degrees, to keep pancakes warm while I finished all the pancakes.)

Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt in a large bowl. (I sifted all the ingredients together.)

In another bowl combine the buttermilk, eggs, butter, lemon zest and poppy seeds.

Add the wet to the dry. Stir all the ingredients until they are just combined. Be sure not to over mix. It will be a thick, somewhat lumpy, batter.

Heat your skillet, pan, or griddle over medium heat. Spray with cooking spray.

Using 1/3 measuring cup, pour batter into prepared pan.

Wait until the pancake bottom is deep golden in color, then flip with a spatula and cook the other side until golden and cooked through. Repeat with the remaining batter.

**Recipe credit: Picky Cook

I served the pancakes with some fresh fruit (peaches, strawberries, and pears).

These were absolutely delicious! My son enjoyed them as well!

20120826-095357.jpg

NOTE: Please do not forget about the free giveaway I posted yesterday. See my post below (Seafood Lasagna) for details.

ENJOY!!!!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Breakfast!

Leave a Reply

