Happy Monday!

I know it is hard to believe, but today truly was a happy Monday for me!! We survived the threat of a tropical storm and hurricane, and I got saw a great number on my scale this morning!!!

No one ever said losing weight was easy, but I have found that by simply making wise food choices makes it seem easy! Once I got serious about losing the extra baby weight in July, I began weighing myself daily, usually every morning as soon as I wake up. Since I had not weighed myself since Friday morning, I was not too thrilled to step on the scale this morning, but I knew it needed to be done! Much to my surprise, I had lost a bit more weight!!! Bringing my total weight loss to 12lbs!!! I was beyond excited because this was a weight I had not seen in more than a year!! šŸ™‚

Seeing this weight only further motivated me to continue to make good food choices and eat healthy. Especially since it is difficult for me to incorporate exercise into my daily life. Eating smarts really is my only option.

So, this morning before walking out the door to head to work,I took a look in my freezer to see what types of protein I had in there. My choices were chicken and fish, and since we had chicken last night, fish it was! However, I still did not know exactly how I was going to prepare it. During my lunch break, I did a little searching and came across the recipe below. (NOTE: I did not have enough of 1 type of fish for dinner. So, I used 2 cod fillets and 2 tilapia fillets.)

Broiled Parmesan Fish

Ingredients:

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 tablespoon and 1-1/2 teaspoons mayonnaise
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1/8 teaspoon dried basil
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon onion powder
1/8 teaspoon celery salt (I did not have celery salt. I used half celery seed and half regular salt.)
1 pound tilapia fillets(The cod was delicious too!)

Directions:

Preheat your oven’s broiler. Grease a broiling pan or line pan with aluminum foil.

In a small bowl, mix together the Parmesan cheese, butter, mayonnaise and lemon juice. Add dried basil, pepper, onion powder and celery seed, and salt. Mix well and set aside.

Arrange fillets in a single layer on the prepared pan. Broil a few inches from the heat for 2 to 3 minutes.

Flip the fillets over and broil for a couple more minutes.

Remove the fillets from the oven and cover them with the Parmesan mixture on the top side.

Broil for 2 more minutes or until the topping is browned and fish flakes easily with a fork.

**Recipe credit: All Recipes

20120827-193819.jpg

I served the fish with a garden salad and steamed green beans. I was hoping for leftovers to take to lunch tomorrow, but it was so delicious my family ate it all!

**Please do not forget to participate in the challenge for your chance to win a FREE slow cooker. See my previous post, Seafood Lasagna, for details.

ENJOY!!!

2 thoughts on “Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

