Quick and Easy Stromboli!

Tonight’s dinner is a throwback to the days we lived in Philadelphia in our tiny studio apartment with only a toaster oven to bake. I have to admit, with only that toaster oven, I was rather creative! I had to cook almost as if I was only cooking for one, and have individual servings.

I would make miniature Stromboli for my husband and I using prepackaged crescent rolls, separate the dough into 4 rectangles, and make 4 miniature Stromboli in order to fit them into our toaster oven.

Since then, we have upgraded to a full size kitchen with a full size oven. What a treat that was when we moved 5 years ago!

Below is the recipe for how I made them tonight.

**PLEASE NOTE: Portions listed are very general. It really depends on you and your family’s taste. Also, Stromboli is very versatile. You can add and/or substitute anything that you like! For example, one of my favorites growing up that my Dad would make was ham, lots of cheese, and yellow mustard. So yummy!!!

Ingredients:

2 prepackaged thin crust pizza dough (I used Pillsbury brand)
1 green pepper, thinly sliced
1 small onion, thinly sliced
4-5 mushrooms, thinly sliced
Sliced mozzarella
Sliced provolone
1 lb Italian turkey sausage, no casings
1 package turkey pepperoni
1 jar of your favorite pizza sauce
Cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line two baking sheets with foil, and spray with cooking spray.

In a medium sauté pan, cook turkey sausage, until no longer pink. Transfer to paper towel lined plate to help absorb some of the grease. Set aside.

Open 1 package of pizza dough and carefully unroll onto a large cutting board. (I lightly sprayed the cutting board to prevent the dough from sticking while I assembled.)

Begin to assemble. The first one I made had cheese, pepperoni, sausage, onion, mushroom, and more cheese.

After you have all your desired cheese, veggies, and meats down, begin to roll the dough until you have reached the end. Tuck the ends under, being sure they are sealed.

Transfer to prepared baking sheet. Spray top of Stromboli with cooking spray, then make 3-4 slits in the top to allow steam to escape.

Repeat for the second pizza dough. My second one included cheese,pepperoni, sausage, green pepper, onion, and more cheese.

Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes, until golden brown and heated through. Remove from the oven and let them rest 5-10 minutes before slicing. I was able to get about 6 slices from each Stromboli.

20120903-194539.jpg

I served it with a garden salad topped with the same veggies I included inside the Stromboli. Also, I personally do not like pizza sauce in or on my Stromboli. So, I heat a store bought sauce in a small sauce pan over low heat, just until warm, for my husband.

20120903-194610.jpg

Have fun, and make it your own!!!

ENJOY!!!!

3 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Stromboli!

  1. Pingback: More love for zucchini!!! | cookingwithatwist

Leave a Reply

