More love for zucchini!!!

After the stressful weekend I had, I was in need of an escape from life for a bit. How do I go about that??? I get in the kitchen and make something!!! The kitchen, for me, is my zen place. As I mentioned before, cooking and baking really relaxes me, and helps relieve some stress on days that just seem to be too much. The real reward is seeing the smile on my family’s faces as we all sit and enjoy a meal together.

Right now zucchini is so abundant in markets and grocery stores, and it is also really cheap. I tend to buy a lot of it and yellow squash in the Summer. The two vegetables go so well together.

Another great thing about zucchini is that it can be used in both savory and sweet recipes, just as I had done in a previous post.

This time I went with a sweet recipe! Even though I am not much for sweets, every once in a while I have a bit of a craving. Yesterday was one of those days. So, as my son took an extended nap, I camped out in the kitchen!

Chocolate-White Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

20120904-153845.jpg

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups sugar (I used 3/4 cup Splenda blend)
3 eggs
1 cup canola oil
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 packed cups grated zucchini
1 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin cups with muffin papers (made 20 muffins for me).

In a large bowl, stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

In a medium bowl, beat the sugar and eggs until light and fluffy. Add the oil and vanilla.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients along with the zucchini and white chocolate chips. Stir just until combined.

Using a spoon, fill each muffin cup.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Remove from muffin pan and let cool on wire rack.

**Recipe adapted from: Babble

I shared some with my family last night after our delicious Stromboli, and shared the rest with my coworkers today. Some of you might be wishing you worked with me?!?! 🙂

ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

