Accidental Pasta!

Well, to be honest…..I messed up tonight, but surprisingly it still turned out well! When I went to the grocery store earlier today, I intended to by RICOTTA cheese, but accidentlly bought COTTAGE cheese. And I did not realize it until I opened the container, thought to myself, “what’s wrong with this ricotta?!?!” After further investigation, it was clearly not ricotta.

I had thought back to a baked pasta recipe I had previously made, and thought I’d give it a try, and see how it turns out.

Here is what I came up with!

Lemon-Cottage Cheese Pasta

Ingredients:

1 fettuccine pasta (I used whole wheat)
3 tbsp olive oil
Zest of 1 lemon
1/4 cup lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
1 package frozen broccoli, thawed
4 tbsp fresh thyme, minced
1/2 container fat free cottage cheese
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Cook the pasta per package directions until al dente. During the last 3-4 minutes of cooking, add the broccoli.

Drain pasta and broccoli. Return to the pot over low heat. Stir in lemon zest, lemon juice, olive oil, and thyme.

Toss to coat, then season with salt and lots of pepper. Add the cottage cheese and Parmesan cheese. Mix until pasta is coated evenly.

**Recipe inspiration: Crumb Blog

With the pasta, I served some roasted shrimp as follows:

12 oz extra large shrimp, peeled and deveined, tails on (about 20 shrimp for me)
2 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Pat shrimp dry with a paper towel. Place on a foil lined baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. With her hands, make sure all the shrimp are evenly coated, and return to a single layer on the baking sheet.

Bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

20120906-185510.jpg

I’m still interested to see how it tastes with the ricotta! I’ll have to make sure I buy the right thing next time!!!! 🙂

ENJOY!!!!

Leave a Reply

