Too much cabbage!

Over the weekend when I was at the grocery store to buy ingredients for the fish tacos, I had purchased an entire head of green cabbage, not really even thinking that I would only need about a quarter of it.

Now…..I was in need of a use for the rest of it! I really did not want it to go to waste. Initially, I looked on Pinterest, but I did not find anything that intrigued me. Next, I headed to Food Network, and simply used the search term “cabbage”. About 10 recipes in I found the perfect one (mostly because I knew my husband would like it 🙂 ).

Hot Asian Slaw

Ingredients:

2 tsp canola oil
1 green cabbage (I used about 3/4 since that what I had left), shredded in food processor
2 medium carrots, shredded in food processor
1/2 large red onion, thinly sliced
1 garlic clove, grated
1 tsp fresh ginger, grated or finely minced
1/4 cup lite soy sauce
2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
2 tsp toasted sesame oil
Red pepper flakes, to taste
Sesame seeds, to taste

Directions:

In a large saute pan over medium-high heat, add the canola oil and heat.

Add the onion, garlic and ginger and saute, stirring, for 1 minute.

Add the cabbage and carrots. Cook until just starting to wilt, about 2 minutes.

In a small combine soy sauce, rice vinegar, and sesame oil. Add half to the cabbage and mix to combine. Cook 2-3 minutes.

Stir in desired amount of red pepper flakes to remaining half of soy mixture. Add to pan.

Stir well and cook just until cabbage is wilted, about 3 minutes. Stir in sesame seeds.

**Recipe developed from: Food Network

20120917-192638.jpg

Along with the Hot Asian Slaw, I served some chicken pieces that I marinaded in a store bough teriyaki marinade. Actually, in my fridge, I had half a bottle each of a honey teriyaki and plain teriyaki. So the chicken was marinaded in the honey teriyaki for 2 hours. Then the other marinade was reduced with a tablespoon of honey, 1/3 cup chicken stock, and sliced onions to use as a sauce, just as I had done previously.

The spicy slaw was a perfect with the sweet teriyaki marinade!

ENJOY!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

