FINALLY……the wait is over!!!

For many years I have been waiting to get my grandma’s chili recipe. This is THE one recipe that truly reminds me of my childhood and growing up. I just love her chili, and I was sure no one could make it like her!

When I asked for her recipe, this is what I got:

Mammal’s Chili recipe

Brown hamburger and onion.
Tomato sauce–med and small can each.
Water
Diced potatoes
2 Large cans and a small can of kidney beans
Chili powder to taste.
Bring to boil. Simmer on low heat.

Clearly, as you can see, there are no real measurements. There are no directions. Gotta love old family recipes!

So, in speaking with my mom on the phone one day last week, she told me she was making this chili. She then went on to say, that her and my dad have adapted it a bit and combined my grandma’s recipe with another they came across. I then changed it a bit myself, and designated actual measurements! Below is what I came up with.

Mamal’s Chili …with a few changes

2 pounds ground turkey
2 small yellow onion, chopped
2 cans (16 ounces) Dark Kidney Beans
2 cans (16 ounces) Pinto Beans
2 cans (15 ounces) Black Beans
2 cans (8 ounces ) tomato sauce
2 cans (15 ounces) diced potatoes
2 tsp chili powder, or to taste
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 can (6 ounces) tomato paste
Water (16 ounces), or to desired thick/thinness

Brown ground turkey and chopped onion. Drain excess grease off.

Stir in remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil. Cook on low heat for at least 1 hour (I actually cooked mine for about 2 hours, until it was time for dinner).

20120923-185934.jpg

As when I was a kid,we often just crushed some saltine crackers in the soup, or served them on the side for dipping. On occasion, we would also serve grilled cheese sandwiches.

20120923-190136.jpg

I hope you and your family enjoy this as much as I have throughout the years. Maybe one day it will be one of your family’s old recipes!

ENJOY!! 🙂

One thought on “FINALLY……the wait is over!!!

  1. I love your Grandma’s recipe! I got one similar from mine, but it was for Hawaiian sweet bread! “Put in some flour” made me laugh. No wonder their stuff was so perfect, they cooked it from heart.

Leave a Reply

