Saturday is……

……GAMEDAY!!!!!

In honor of my love of college football, I made something very “tailgate-like” for dinner in my house. However, I also wanted it to be somewhat healthy since I am still trying to shed a few pounds (Just over 15 pounds lost since July…yay!).

I had some leftover fresh-frozen turkey burgers from our last tailgate. I really wanted to make those along with hotdogs, but how could I make them more than just regular premade grilled turkey burgers. I was craving buffalo wings, but knew that was not an option! One, I did not have any wings, and secondly, they are not always the healthiest.

For my son’s tailgate and sports first birthday party I had made buffalo wings for the first time. The recipe was so simply I thought maybe I could somehow use a version of it for dinner tonight. But a buffalo burger was not enough. I needed a sauce! Then, for our Super Bowl party, I made a buffalo chicken ring (thanks to a Pinterest search), and also thought there was a way to incorporate parts of that recipe too!

Here is what I came up with……

Buffalo Turkey Burgers with Ranch Sauce

Ingredients:

4 fresh turkey burgers (I used Jenny-O)
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup buffalo wing sauce (I used Ken’s)
1/4 cup margarine or butter, melted
Cooking spray
4 slices Swiss cheese

Line a baking sheet with foil. Lightly spray with cooking spray.

Combine flour, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and salt in a shallow bowl or plate.

Coat each of the turkey burgers in the flour mixture, being careful not to break them (mine were not completely thawed which helped keep them together). Place on prepared baking sheet. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a shallow bowl, combine buffalo sauce and melted butter. Coat each of the burgers in buffalo sauce. Return to prepared baking sheet. Repeat with the rest of the burgers.

Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes, turning half way through. During last couple minutes of baking, top each burger with 1 slice of Swiss cheese. Return to oven until melted.

Sauce:

2 tbsp low fat cream cheese, softened
3 tbsp fat free sour cream
1 tsp dry ranch dressing mix
1 stalk celery, chopped small

While the burgers are cooking, combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Place in refrigerator until ready to serve.

**Recipe adapted from: All Recipes

20121013-190719.jpg

This was a perfect GAMEDAY dinner!! Even better that my team just won in overtime! GO IRISH!!!

ENJOY!! 🙂

One thought on “Saturday is……

  1. Pingback: Obsessed With Buffalo! | cookingwithatwist

Leave a Reply

