Taco Twist!

Even though we did not have a football game to go to, there is no reason why we can’t cook it up like a tailgate!

Our gameday meal was inspired by my parents. I had spoken to them the night before, and they had told me that two of my brothers were coming to their house that night for tacos. I really like tacos, but do not make them very often.

Ordinary tacos did not appeal to me on gameday. I really wanted burgers and hotdogs, but how could I make them different?? I took to Pinterest. No recipes stood out. So I just came up with something myself. This is so simple, and only requires 2 ingredients!!!

Taco Turkey Burgers

Ingredients:

4 ready-made turkey burgers (or you can patty your own)
1 package low sodium taco seasoning

Directions:

Heat large skillet over medium heat. Grease with cooking spray.

Meanwhile, sprinkle both sides of each burger with taco seasoning, being sure to rub it in so it sticks to the burgers.

Depending on the size of your pan, sauté burgers 5-6 minutes on each side, or until cooked through (I cooked 2 burgers at a time, and had my oven on low to keep first 2 burgers warm while I cooked the last 2).

Serve with all the fixings of you and your family’s choice. I set up an assembly line of sour cream, salsa, lettuce, tomato, onion, and shredded cheese. I also made my favorite black bean and corn salsa (minus the edamame) with tortilla chips.

20121021-135410.jpg

I was really unsure how this would turn out, but I was pleasantly surprised! They were so good, and tasted just like a taco, but better!!!

Have fun, and make it to suit your family!

ENJOY!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

