Another family recipe!

As I have grown older, I have learned to appreciate the simple things in life. Looking back, I can definitely admit I took a lot for granted growing up. Now that I’m older, and living away from my family, I look forward to and truly cherish any time I get to spend with my family. Family recipes are just one way that I pay tribute to how grateful I am for my family!

For the recipe below, I have to given credit to my Aunt. I have always loved family get togethers and cookouts because I could almost always guarantee that my Aunt was going to make this! In the case of today, it was in honor of college football. Even though our local team had a home game, we stayed home to cookout and watch the Notre Dame vs. Oklahoma game that was playing at about the same time. And what a great decision that was!!!!!

Rotini (Macaroni) Salad

Ingredients:

2 cups short cut pasta, uncooked (I used Rotini because that’s what I had on hand)
1 cup light Miracle Whip
2 tbsp yellow mustard
3 tbsp white vinegar
1/4 cup Spelnda sugar blend
1/2 can fat free evaporated milk
Pinch of salt
Carrots, onions, celery, peppers, hard boiled eggs — to taste

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package instructions.

Meanwhile, in a bowl, combine Miracle whip, mustard, vinegar, sugar, and evaporated milk. Stir until smooth.

Chop desired vegetables. I used shredded carrots and onion. I did not have celery on hand, but I normally would add that as well, and I never use peppers. Just do not like them in this salad.

In a large bowl, combine drained pasta, dressing mix, veggies. It will seem like too much, but as it sits the pasta absorbs the sauce. Place in refrigerator to cool. Stir in chopped egg just before serving.

20121028-083250.jpg

This would be a great addition to any get-together, cookout, or tailgate!

ENJOY!! 🙂

One thought on “Another family recipe!

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Dinner | cookingwithatwist

Leave a Reply

